Loading...
California Employment Laws 2018-06-15T22:49:09+00:00

CALIFORNIA EMPLOYMENT & RECRUITING LAW INFORMATION

California law prohibits recruiters from inquiring about salary history, employee benefits and criminal background.

In addition, California employers must, upon reasonable request, provide an applicant with a pay scale for the job position(s) sought.

An employer may not prohibit an employee from disclosing his or her own wages, discussing the wages of others, inquiring about another employee’s wages, or aiding or encouraging any other employee to exercise rights under the Equal Pay Act. Accordingly, an employer may not retaliate against an employee for engaging in such conduct.

Under California Sick Leave Law, employees will accrue one hour of paid sick leave for every 30 hours worked.

Paid sick leave must carry over from year to year, but employers can place a cap on accrual of 48 hours (or six days) use of sick leave.

Employers can limit an employee’s use of sick leave to 24 hours (or three days) per year.

Sick leave is not a wage under California law; therefore, the Act does not require employers to cash out sick leave either during employment or at the time of separation from employment

California Minimum Wage Schedule

(Jan. 1)

26+ workers

25 or fewer

2018 $11.00 $10.50
2019 $12.00 $11.00
2020 $13.00 $12.00

Los Angeles Minimum Wage Schedule

July 1

26+ workers

25 or fewer

2018 $13.25 $12.00
2019 $14.25 $13.25
2020 $15.00 $14.25

LOOKING TO HIRE? ASK OUR RECRUITERS.

Ask a Recruiter

WE CAN HELP YOU FIND THE RIGHT FIT.

Get in touch with the recruiters at Work 22 to find the right job to fit your needs. Our team is comprised of expert recruiters in the Los Angeles, CA area with years of experience.

SUBMIT YOUR RESUME